English Lakes South Eastern OS Explorer Map OL7 (paper)

£7.99 BUY

73 Currently in Stock

Publisher Report: In Print

See all items in this series >

  • Publisher: Ordnance Survey
  • EAN/ISBN: 9780319240243
  • Scale: 1:25,000
  • Sheet Reference: OL07 PAPER
  • Size Folded: 13.5x24cm
  • Size: 127x94cm
  • Binding: Folded Map
The south-eastern area of the Lake District on a detailed topographic and GPS compatible map OL7, paper version, from the Ordnance Survey’s 1:25,000 Explorer series. Coverage extends eastwards from Coniston and the northern part of the Coniston Water to the Killington Reservoir and includes Grasmere, Ambleside, Windermere, Kendal, Penny Bridge, Newby Bridge, Grange-over-Sands, Arnside and Silverdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, sections of the Cumbria Way and the Dales Way, etc. Edition A3; publication date December 2010.

OS EXPLORER SERIES: to see the list of all the titles in the OS Explorer series, both paper and waterproof versions, please click on the series link.

About this series: these highly detailed maps show all the administrative boundaries, settlements as small as isolated farms, the road network down to unfenced roads and country tracks, and field boundaries (hedges and drystone walls) which make navigation across the countryside much easier. Steep gradients on roads are indicated. Various landmarks, e.g. powerlines, archaeological sites, windmills, churches and lighthouses are shown and additional graphics indicate natural terrain features such as cliffs, scree, mud and vegetation variations. The contour interval is 5 metres in the lower parts of the country and 10 metres in the uplands, and spot heights are marked. Each map covers an area of 30 x 20km (i.e. approx. 19 x 12 miles), with some double-sided maps covering more, as indicated in the individual descriptions. The maps are fully GPS compatible, with the National Grid shown at 1km intervals and latitude and longitude indicated by margin ticks at 1'.

The Explorer series has replaced the earlier, green-cover Pathfinder maps. The Explorer series is now complete and covers all of England, Wales & Scotland. Some sheets for popular areas like the National Parks are still branded as Outdoor Leisure (OL) maps, but are now included in this series as the cartography is the same as that in the Explorer Maps. The Explorer maps offer a substantial improvement on the Pathfinder series, with greater use of colour, larger area per map, and stronger emphasis on information for ramblers and tourists.

This series is ideal for walking and other outdoor pursuits and each map shows a large amount of information for ramblers and tourists. Public rights of way are shown (except in Scotland), together with other routes with public access: National Trails and Recreational Paths, permitted paths and bridleways, and selected cycle routes. Open access land created under the Countryside and Rights of Way Act 2000 is marked. Tourist information includes caravan and camp sites, Park & Ride locations, recreation/leisure/sport centres, museums, historic buildings, English Heritage and National Trust sites, rural pubs, etc. The map legend is in English only, except for the tourist information content which is also in French and German.
Review this Product?