The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman's Walk in the Wild to Find Her Way Home

£8.99
  In stock online

Product Details

+

Perfect for fans of 'The Salt Path' and 'The Outrun', this book is a life-affirming exploration of wild landscapes, what it means to be different and, above all, how we can all learn to make peace within our own unquiet minds.

'A windswept tale, beautifully told' Raynor Winn - The Salt Path

'A manifesto for the value of difficult people. I loved it' Amy Liptrot - The Outrun

In August 2015, Katherine May set out to walk the 630-mile South West Coast Path. She wanted to understand why she had stopped coping with everyday life; why motherhood had been so overwhelming and isolating, and why the world felt full of inundation and expectations she can't meet. Setting her feet down on the rugged and difficult path by the sea, the answer begins to unfold. It's a chance encounter with a voice on the radio that sparks a realisation that she has Asperger's Syndrome.

'The Electricity of Every Living Thing' tells the story of the year in which Katherine comes to terms with her diagnosis. It leads to a re-evaluation of her life so far - a kinder one, which finally allows her to be different rather than simply awkward, arrogant or unfeeling. The physical and psychological journeys become inextricably entwined, and as Katherine finds her way across the untameable coast, she also finds the way to herself.

ISBN/EAN: 9781409172512
Author: May, Katherine
Publication Date: 16/05/2019
Size: 196x128mm
Product Type: Paperback
Number of Pages: 288

Delivery & Collection Options

+

Ask Us A Question

+

Reviews

+

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. By using this site you give implied consent. For more infomation please review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy and then Accept and Close this bar.

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. It looks like cookies are disabled in your browser. To find out more about our cookie usage policy click here then to find out about changing your browser cookie settings click here (This link opens in a window).

This site requires cookies for account access and purchasing. By using this site you give implied consent. For more infomation please review our use of cookies in our Cookie Policy and then Accept and Close this bar.