William Atkins: Journeys in Desert Places: Stanfords Travel Writers Festival 2020

Winner of the Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year at the 2019 Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards, William Atkins talks to Julia Wheeler about his experiences in eight deserts: the Empty Quarter of Oman, the Gobi Desert and Taklamakan deserts of northwest China, the Great Victoria Desert of Australia, the man-made desert of the Aral Sea in Kazakhstan, the Black Rock and Sonoran Deserts of the American Southwest, and Egypt’s Eastern Desert. Hear all about the timeless allure of these remote and forbidding places.

The Immeasurable World: Journeys in Desert Places by William Atkins.

Wainwright Prize shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s Wainwright Prize has been announced – will Helen Macdonald’s H is for Hawk swoop to conquer once again?

Read More Wainwright Prize shortlist announced

Wainwright Prize Longlist in Pictures

We’re not saying you should ever judge a book by its cover – but here are some of the beautifully designed jackets for the books making this year’s Wainwright Prize longlist.



The longlist in full

Britannia Obscura: Mapping Hidden Britain by Joanne Parker (Vintage, Penguin Random House)

Claxton: Field Notes from a Small Planet by Mark Cocker (Vintage, Penguin Random House)

Counting Sheep by Philip Walling (Profile)

H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (Vintage, Penguin Random House)

Meadowland by John Lewis-Stempel (Transworld Publishers)

On Silbury Hill by Adam Thorpe (Little Toller Books)

Rising Ground: A Search for the Spirit of Place by Philip Marsden (Granta Publications)

Running Free: A Runner’s Journey Back to Nature by Richard Askwith (Vintage/Yellow Jersey, Penguin Random House)

The Ash Tree by Oliver Rackham (Little Toller Books)

The Moor by William Atkins (Faber & Faber)

The Walker’s Guide to Outdoor Clues and Signs by Tristan Gooley (Hodder & Stoughton)

Walking Home by Clare Balding (Penguin Books)

The shortlist will be announced on 26th March and the winner will be announced at a ceremony on 22nd April.