We found 18 items
View
Sort by
View as

The Green Road Into The Trees

Paperback
by Hugh Thomson
Hugh Thomson takes a 400-mile journey across England from coast to coast - one that takes in ancient landscapes, abandoned tracks and drovers' roads.
In Stock
Online Stock:
15 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - 3 in stock
  • Bristol Store - 2 in stock
  • Warehouse - 12 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£9.99
£9.99

The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club

Paperback
by De Blasi, Marlena
"If you loved Under the Tuscan Sun, you'll love this." (Red Magazine). Pull up a chair for the true story of the Umbrian Thursday night supper club. Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy's Orvieto. There - along with their friend, Marlena - they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local w...
In Stock
Online Stock:
101 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - 2 in stock
  • Bristol Store - 1 in stock
  • Warehouse - 50+ in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake

Paperback
by Bender Aimee
On the eve of her ninth birthday, Rose Edelstein bites into her mother's homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a magical gift: she can taste her mother's emotions in the slice. All at once her cheerful, can-do mother tastes of despair and desperation. Suddenly, and for the rest of her life, food becomes perilous. Anything can be revealed at any meal. Rose's gift forces her to confront the trut...
In Stock
Online Stock:
10 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 10 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£7.99
£7.99

A Song for Issy Bradley

Paperback
by Bray, Carys
This book is Shortlisted For Costa First Novel Award and Longlisted For The Desmond Ellot Prize 2015. This is the story of what happens when Issy Bradley dies. It is the story of Ian - husband, father, maths teacher and Mormon bishop - and his unshakeable belief that everything will turn out all right if he can only endure to the end, like the pioneers did. It is the story of his wife Claire's lonely wait f...
In Stock
Online Stock:
54 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - 1 in stock
  • Warehouse - 50+ in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£7.99
£7.99

The Sugar Barons

Paperback
by Matthew Parker
For 200 years after 1650 the West Indies were the most fought-over colonies in the world, as Europeans made and lost immense fortunes growing and trading in sugar - a commodity so lucrative that it was known as white gold. Young men, beset by death and disease, an ocean away from the moral anchors of life in Britain, created immense dynastic wealth but produced a society poisoned by war, sickness, cruelty a...
In Stock
Online Stock:
7 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - 1 in stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 6 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

Castle: A History of the Buildings that Shaped Medieval Britain

Paperback
by Morris Marc
Beginning with their introduction in the eleventh century, and ending with their widespread abandonment in the seventeenth, Marc Morris explores many of the country's most famous castles, as well as some spectacular lesser-known examples. At times this is an epic tale, driven by characters like William the Conqueror, King John and Edward I, full of sieges and conquest on an awesome scale. But it is also by ...
In Stock
Online Stock:
4 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 4 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

The Taste of Ashes: the Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe

Paperback
by Shore, Marci
This is a superb account of complex psyche of Eastern Europe in the wake of the revolutions of 1989 and the opening of the communist archives. In the tradition of Timothy Garton Ash's The File, Yale historian and prize-winning author Marci Shore draws upon intimate understanding to illuminate the afterlife of totalitarianism. The Taste of Ashes spans from Berlin to Moscow, moving from Vienna in Europe's wes...
In Stock
Online Stock:
2 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - 1 in stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 1 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£9.99
£9.99

Dona Nicanora's Hat Shop

Paperback
by Hawkins, Kirstan
Surrounded by forest and reached only by a treacherous road, the sleepy South American town of Valle de la Virgen is almost unknown to the outside world. But after a silent stranger rolls in on the back of a pick-up truck, nothing is the same again. Life for the town's inhabitants has not turned out as they once dreamed. Dona Nicanora never did escape the swamp town and travel the world, Don Bosco did not m...
In Stock
Online Stock:
2 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 2 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£7.99
£7.99

A Mountain Of Crumbs - Growing Up Behind The Iron Curtain

Paperback
by Gorokhova, Elena
"A Mountain of Crumbs" is the moving story of a young Soviet girl's discovery of the hidden truths of adulthood and her country's profound political deception. Elena, born with a desire to explore the world beyond her borders, finds her passion in the complexity of the English language - but in the Soviet Union of the 1960s, such a passion verges on the subversive. Elena's home is no longer the majestic Rus...
In Stock
Online Stock:
2 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 2 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

Tower

Paperback
by Jones Nigel
No building has been more intimately involved in the story of Britain than the Tower of London - a mighty, brooding stronghold in the very heart of the capital. Castle, prison, torture chamber, execution site, zoo, mint, treasure house, armoury, observatory: the Tower has been all these things and more, standing at the epicentre of dramatic, bloody and frequently cruel events for almost a thousand years. Se...
In Stock
Online Stock:
2 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 2 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

The Good Daughter

Paperback
by Darznik Jasmin
'With this one word, Lili had finally understood many things: that no matter what she promised or sacrificed or gave, she would always be 'broken' to her daughter.' When Jasmin Darznik finds a photo among her father's possessions shortly after his death, she recognises the child in the veil and bride's clothes as her mother, Lili, but the groom is unfamiliar. Who had her mother married all those years befor...
In Stock
Online Stock:
2 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 2 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

The Founding Gardeners

Paperback
by Wulf, Andrea
A follow-up to Andrea Wulf's award-winning and critically acclaimed history of British gardening, this is the story of how George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams and James Madison's passion for nature, plants, agriculture and gardens shaped the birth of America. Through a series of vignettes spanning the Declaration of Independence to the death of Adams and Jefferson exactly fifty years to the day ...
In Stock
Online Stock:
1 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 1 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

A Winter On The Nile

Paperback
by Anthony Sattin
In the winter of 1849, Florence Nightingale was an unknown 29-year-old - beautiful, well-born and deeply unhappy. After clashing with her parents over her refusal to marry, she had been offered a lifeline by family friends who suggested a trip to Egypt, a country which she had always longed to visit. By an extraordinary coincidence, taking the same boat from Alexandria was an unpublished French writer, Gust...
In Stock
Online Stock:
1 available
Click & Collect
  • London Store - Out of stock
  • Bristol Store - Out of stock
  • Warehouse - 1 in stock

Order before 5pm to collect from your chosen store after 1pm the next working day.

Find out more about Click & Collect
£8.99
£8.99

The Sentimentalists

Paperback
by Skibsrud/1
Haunted by the horrific events he witnessed during the Vietnam War, Napoleon Haskell is exhausted from years spent battling his memories. As his health ultimately declines, his two daughters move him from his trailer in North Dakota to Casablanca, Ontario, to live with the father of a friend who was killed in action. It is to Casablanca, on the shores of a man-made lake beneath which lie the remains of the ...
In Stock
Click & Collect
£7.99
£7.99

Spotlights - Romans

Paperback
by Haywood, John
In Stock
Click & Collect
£6.99
£6.99

Spotlights - Egyptians

Paperback
by Grant, Neil
In Stock
Click & Collect
£6.99
£6.99

The Unreliable Life Of Harry The Valet

Paperback
by Duncan Hamilton
17 October 1898. An impossibly daring jewellery heist aboard a train at Paris's Gare du Nord station captures the attention of the world. Who would have dared to pull off such a feat? Award-winning writer Duncan Hamilton reveals the true story of Harry the Valet, the notorious crook who was the scourge of Victorian London. Harry conned and stole his way into high society, living a life of excess in London's...
In Stock
Click & Collect
£7.99
£7.99
View
Sort by
View as