Barn Club: A Tale of Forgotten Elm Trees, Traditional Craft and Community Spirit

£20.00
In Stock Online
SKU
9781603589666
 
'A joyful reminder of why nature, being outside, being together and creating beauty is so good for the soul.' Kate Humble, broadcaster and author of A Year of Living Simply



Natural history meets traditional hand craft in this celebration of the elm tree and community spirit.



Perfect for fans of Norwegian Wood and the Hidden Life of Trees.



Barn Club calls on us to discover our landscapes more intimately and to explore the joys of making beautiful things by hand, together.



When renowned craftsman Robert Somerville moved to Hertfordshire, in southern England, he discovered an unexpected landscape rich with wildlife and elm trees. Nestled within London's commuter belt, this wooded farmland inspired Somerville, a lifelong woodworker, to revive the ancient tradition of hand-raising barns.



Barn Club follows the building of Carley Barn, over the course of one year. Volunteers from all walks of life joined Barn Club, inspired to learn this ancient skill of building elm barns by hand, at its own quiet pace and in the company of others, while using timber from the local woods.



The tale of the elm tree in its landscape is central to Barn Club. Its natural history, historic importance and remarkable survival make for a fascinating story. This is a tale of forgotten trees, a local landscape and an ancient craft.



This book features 16 pages of colour photographs, and black and white line drawings of techniques and traditional timber frame barns feature throughout.
More Information
Weight 0.567000
Author Somerville, Robert
Availability IP
Department Art and Architecture
Format Hardback
ISBN 9781603589666
Pages 272
Published 11/03/2021
Publisher Chelsea Green Publishing Co
Section Art and Architecture
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Barn Club: A Tale of Forgotten Elm Trees, Traditional Craft and Community Spirit
Copyright © 1853-2024 Edward Stanford Ltd. All rights reserved.