In Search of Mycotopia

£14.99
1 quantity in London Store
SKU
9781645021490
 
From ecology to fermentation, in pop culture through to medicine - mushrooms are quite literally everywhere! Author Doug Bierend guides readers through the weird, wonderful world of fungi and the amazing mycological movement.

In Search of Mycotopia introduces us to an incredible, essential and often overlooked kingdom of life - fungi - and all the potential it holds for our future, through the work and research being done by an unforgettable community of mushroom-mad citizen scientists and microbe devotees. This engrossing and mind-expanding book will captivate readers who are curious about the hidden worlds and networks that make up our planet.

Bierend uncovers a vanguard of mycologists: growers, independent researchers, ecologists, entrepreneurs and amateur enthusiasts exploring and advocating for fungi's capacity to improve and heal. From decontaminating landscapes and waterways to achieving food security, In Search of Mycotopia demonstrates how humans can work with fungi to better live with nature - and with one another.

'If you enjoyed Merlin Sheldrake's Entangled Life . . . I highly recommend this book. . . . In the vein of Louis Theroux, Bierend journeys deep in the wonderfully strange subculture of the mushroom-mad.'-Idler magazine

'Comprehensive and enthusiastic. . . . This fascinating, informative look into a unique subculture and the fungi at its center is a real treat.'-Publishers Weekly
More Information
Weight 0.472000
Author Bierend, Doug
Availability IP
Department Natural History
Format Paperback
ISBN 9781645021490
Pages 336
Published 12/01/2023
Publisher Chelsea Green Publishing Co
Section Natural History
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:In Search of Mycotopia
Copyright © 1853-2024 Edward Stanford Ltd. All rights reserved.