The Bandit Queens: Longlisted For The Women's Prize For Fiction 2023

£9.99
In Stock Online
London Store 1 available
ISBN
9781838957179
 
For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife...

Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too.
Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2023

A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick 2023

'Not since Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger has the rotten core of modern India been exposed in quite such blackly antic fashion as Parini Shroff manages here in this intermittently absurd, feminist revenge caper about a group of snarky, much-abused, predominantly Hindu wives...sheer gutsy verve.' The Times

'A darkly funny revenge drama rooted in the reality of rural India . . . [A] vivid, unsentimental story that succeeds in being both satirical and moving.' Guardian

'A radically feel-good story about the murder of no-good husbands by a cast of unsinkable women' - New York Times

'Mordantly humoured, pacey feminist revenge thriller' - The Sunday Times
__________________________________


For Geeta, life as a widow is more peaceful than life as a wife...

Until the other women in her village decide they want to be widows, too.

Geeta is believed to have killed her vanished husband - a rumour she hasn't bothered trying to correct, because a reputation like that can keep a single woman safe in rural India. But when she's approached for help in ridding another wife of her abusive drunk of a husband, her reluctant agreement sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of all the women in the village....

A darkly irreverent and fresh take on a feminist revenge thriller, perfect for readers of My Sister the Serial Killer, How To Kidnap The Rich and the Sharon Horgan series Bad Sisters.

'Tender, unpredictable, brimming with laugh-out-loud moments' Tea Obreht, author of THE TIGER'S WIFE

'Original, memorable, and endearing' Charmaine Wilkerson, author of BLACK CAKE

'A rollicking mash-up of adventure story, thriller, dark revenge, and comedy' Cristina Garcia, author of DREAMING IN CUBAN
More Information
Weight 0.283000
Author Shroff, Parini
Availability IP
Department Literature
Edition Main
Format Paperback
ISBN 9781838957179
Pages 416
Published 01/02/2024
Publisher Atlantic Books
Section Literature
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Bandit Queens: Longlisted For The Women's Prize For Fiction 2023
Copyright © 2024 Edward Stanford Ltd. All rights reserved.