Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A Himalayan Journey

£14.99
In stock
ISBN
9781787302273
 
An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains

Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet.
Shortlisted for the 2021 Edward Stanford Travel Writing Awards, Stanford Dolman Travel Book of the Year in association with the Authors' Club.


An awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth, from the author of international bestseller The Eight Mountains

Paolo Cognetti marked his 40th birthday with a journey he had always wanted to make: to Dolpo, a remote Himalayan region where Nepal meets Tibet. He took with him two friends, a notebook, mules and guides, and a well-worn copy of The Snow Leopard. Written in 1978, Matthiessen's classic was also turning forty, and Cognetti set out to walk in the footsteps of the great adventurer.

Without Ever Reaching the Summit combines travel journal, secular pilgrimage, literary homage and sublime mountain writing in a short book for readers of Macfarlane, Rebanks and Cognetti's own bestseller, The Eight Mountains. An investigation into the author's physical limits, an ancient mountain culture, and the magnificence of nature, it is an awestruck love letter to one of the most spectacular places on earth.
More Information
Weight 0.250000
Author Cognetti, Paolo (Author)
Availability IP
Department Travel Writing
Format Hardback
ISBN 9781787302273
Pages 160
Published 05/11/2020
Publisher Vintage
Section Travel Writing: General
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:Without Ever Reaching the Summit: A Himalayan Journey
Copyright © 2024 Edward Stanford Ltd. All rights reserved.