The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World

In stock
A revelatory new history of the ancient world, told through its seven greatest monuments.
Their names still echo down the ages: The Great Pyramid at Giza. The Hanging Gardens of Babylon. The Temple of Artemis. The statue of Zeus at Olympia. The mausoleum of Halikarnassos. The Colossus at Rhodes. The Lighthouse of Alexandria. The Seven Wonders of the World were staggeringly audacious impositions on our planet. They were also brilliant adventures of the mind, test cases of the reaches of human imagination. Now only the pyramid remains, yet the scale and majesty of these seven wonders still enthral us today.

In a thrilling, colourful narrative enriched with the latest archaeological discoveries, bestselling historian Bettany Hughes walks through the landscapes of both ancient and modern time; on a journey whose purpose is to ask why we wonder, why we create, why we choose to remember the wonder of others. She explores traces of the Wonders themselves, and the traces they have left in history. A majestic work of historical storytelling, The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World reinforces the exciting, and nourishing, notion that humans can make the impossible happen.
More Information
Weight 0.000000
Author Hughes, Bettany
Availability IP
Department History
Format Hardback
ISBN 9781474610322
Pages 416
Published 18/01/2024
Publisher Orion Publishing Group
Section History
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World
Copyright © 2024 Edward Stanford Ltd. All rights reserved.